Contemporary Art - Science - Urbanism - Digital Culture

Marcos Meza (*1984) is a Berlin-based Chilean pianist and composer. He began playing the piano at the age of seven, learning from his Polish mentor Ewa Jasinska. His work encompasses compositions for solo piano that explore impressionist and modern classical sonorities, inspired largely by the Tonada (traditional Chilean music), and the use of electronic textures. His concerts showcase the intimacy with which he plays the piano, and the ability to take the audience on a contemplative journey through Chile’s landscapes, ranging from the mountains to the ocean, from north to south, painting scenes of folkloric imagery.

During his years living in Germany, Meza has been progressively developing a strong musical identity, touring throughout different stages of the experimental and modern classical music scene.

Marcos Meza on YouTube.

He complemented his classical training on the piano by studying popular music at the Modern School of Music and Dance in Santiago, Chile. During his teenage years, he started producing Hip Hop and gained experience as a member of various music projects. In 2006 he co-founded the rap jazz band, Como Asesinar a Felipes (Clouds Hill, Hamburg), which has had several international collaborations with artists such as Billy Gould (Faith No More), Chino Moreno (Deftones), and Mad Professor, among others. In 2014 he decided to leave the band, to travel and expand his profession as a composer and arranger, exploring the field of visual media, dance and advertising.



7.30 pm

Part 1:
Niebla (2013)
Creencia (2010)
Entonada (2020)
Invernada (2020)
Contestaciones II (2021)


Part 2:
Tonada V (P. H. Allende) (1920)
Tonada VIII (P. H. Allende) (1920)
Rinconada (2020)
Pieza Campesina (2022)
Viento Norte (2022)
Sumergido (2010)